The House system was founded in 1968 to group young people together so that they may compete in a controlled, healthy and friendly atmosphere, thus promoting a sense of pride and belonging.

Pupils on being admitted to St Benedict’s are placed at random into one of five Houses each named after saints.They are Becket, Clitherow, Dibdale, Fisher, and More. The intake is divided into five tutor groups e.g. 7B, 7C, 7D, 7F, and 7M.

Each House has members of staff designated Head of House and the Boys’ and Girls’ Captains and Vice-Captains are elected from the 13th and 11th years respectively.

House activities are many and varied giving everyone the opportunity to represent their House. A calendar of House events is compiled and published at the beginning of each year. Events are scheduled to take place at lunchtimes and on afternoons of certain feast days.

Each House meets regularly on a rota basis to worship together and deal with House business.

House colours are automatically awarded to individuals after they have represented their House on fifteen separate occasions. House colours take the form of a miniature House shield badge worn by the recipient on the blazer lapel.

On arrival at St Benedict’s, each pupil will be allocated to one of the following:


It takes its name from Saint Thomas Becket, venerated as a saint and martyr by both Catholic and Anglican churches (1118 – 1170)


It takes its name from Saint Margaret Clitherow, English saint and martyr of the Roman Catholic Church (1556 – 1586)

DIBDALE HOUSE Colour: Maroon

It takes its name from the Blessed Robert Dibdale, English Catholic priest and martyr (1556 – 1586)


It takes its name from Saint John Fisher, English prelate, Cardinal and Bishop of Rochester (1504-1534)

MORE HOUSE Colour: Green

It takes its name from St Thomas More, English lawyer, social philosopher, author, statesman and noted Renaissance humanist (1478 – 1535)